Skip to product information
1 of 1

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

Brown Is Beautiful: A Poem of Self-Love

Brown Is Beautiful: A Poem of Self-Love

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Details

Author: Supriya Kelkar

Illustrator: Lala Watkins

 

Page Count: 40

 

Published: October 4, 2022

 

ISBN: 9780374389529

Description

For fans of Hair Love and Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, here is an empowering picture book about recognizing the beauty around you and within you by award-winning author Supriya Kelkar and rising star illustrator Noor Sofi.
 

Brown is beautiful.

On a hike with her grandparents, a young Indian-American girl makes note of all the things in nature that are brown, too. From a nurturing mother bear, to the steadiness of deep twisting roots, to the beauty of a wild mustang, brown is everywhere! On her way, the girl collects the beautiful brown things she encounters as mementos for a scrapbook to share with a very special new addition to her family--a baby brother!

Brown is you.
Brown is me.

Accolades

"This brilliant tapestry of browns may spark discussions about identity and nature." Kirkus Reviews

"Lyrically narrated... Kelkar follows intergenerational members of a brown-skinned family walking out-of-doors and beholding brown-hued elements of a changing landscape... In lustrous autumnal hues, debut illustrator Sofi’s rich digital art captures a variety of natural landscapes via images both majestic and familiar." Publishers Weekly

"A baby’s homecoming is a reminder of the joy found in the color brown, a cozy ­message that few readers will want to miss. ­Lovely." —School Library Journal

View full details